Depth of Field & Motion Assignment

My first shooting assignment for my photography class involved depth of field and motion.

We had to take a series of photos where we focused on different aspects of the scene, basically starting in the front, moving to the middle, the back, and finally a shot of the entire scene in focus.

I opted to photograph a small section of landscaping at my parents’ house where a down spout drains into some rocks.

Here is my series of photos…

We also had to take two other shots where a portion of the shot is in focus and a portion is out of focus. While I was at my parents’ house, I came across this spider web covered in water droplets…

And of course, the standard focus in the center of a a flower shot…

The second half of the assignment was to capture motion. We had to take a few shots so that we implied motion by a blurred image, and we had to take a few shots where we froze the motion in mid-movement. I opted to take a photo of Lexi in her pool, shaking the water off of her with her face blurred (the water drops flying off of her also fit for the freezing of a moving object)…

For the second half of the assignment, where I had to freeze motion, I opted to photograph a dripping faucet. My counters are grey and it didn’t provide the best background, so I opted to put a mirror behind the faucet for better contrast…

I also included this photo, which was actually taken with my old point and shoot camera. I took it when The One and I were on our cruise back in January. It is from Grand Cayman…

There are a few other techniques we learned for capturing motion that I didn’t have time to do (nor do I have the equipment for one of them), so I’m hoping to have the opportunity to practice a bit more with motion shots in the future.

So, what do you think of my first attempts at photography?

This entry was posted in Class Assignments, Depth of Field, Motion, Nature, Travel Photos, Water. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Depth of Field & Motion Assignment

  1. June says:

    Pretty awesome photos!

  2. Melly says:

    I think the leaky faucet is my favourite pic.

  3. Caro says:

    The water drops pics are very cool.

  4. Eyegirl says:

    Thanks everyone!

Leave a comment